Options

Bare bones equipment for weddings/portraits, the role of "second shooter"

lisarhinehartlisarhinehart Registered Users Posts: 279 Major grins
edited July 11, 2009 in Weddings
What would you recommend for starting to build up very basic equipment for wedding photography and possibly portraits? I am self taught, starting small (budget and experience) and moving forward as I am able, with this hobby. Again, not thinking big time or big money-- slow and steady.

I currently focus on nature photography and have a cannon rebel with the factory and macro lens. I would like some direction as to what I type of equipment I should begin looking into, should I want to begin exploring weddings or portraiture.

I'm thinking a zoom lens, speed-lights, several batteries, a tripod... any specific recs would be very much appreciated. I am also thinking it would be good to find someone who I could "second shoot" for to gain some practice and learn from. How do I find someone like that?

--Lisa
Lisa
My Website

Comments

• Options
    Candid ArtsCandid Arts Registered Users Posts: 1,685 Major grins
    edited March 10, 2009
    What would you recommend for starting to build up very basic equipment for wedding photography and possibly portraits? I am self taught, starting small (budget and experience) and moving forward as I am able, with this hobby. Again, not thinking big time or big money-- slow and steady.

I currently focus on nature photography and have a cannon rebel with the factory and macro lens. I would like some direction as to what I type of equipment I should begin looking into, should I want to begin exploring weddings or portraiture.

I'm thinking a zoom lens, speed-lights, several batteries, a tripod... any specific recs would be very much appreciated. I am also thinking it would be good to find someone who I could "second shoot" for to gain some practice and learn from. How do I find someone like that?

--Lisa