Options

SLR to DSLR switch: what won't work...

SavedByZeroSavedByZero Registered Users Posts: 226 Major grins
edited January 16, 2008 in Cameras
Okay so I'm a long time photographer that's done allot of weddings, photojournalism for the Florida Today as a stringers and some portrait stuff in the past. And now I'm trying to get back into the SLR hobby again, my nikon coolpix 3200 p/s is nice but limited. So I've got to ask what items won't convert over to the newer digital bodies. I'm a Minolta man from the start, should have switched to Canon when the A2E/A2 and USM lens came out but didn't but that's another story in it's self.

So this is what I've got that I used on my 700si and 7000i bodies and want to know what will work with a Sony A100/A200.

Minolta 5200i flash
Minolta 3500xi flash

Tokina 20-35 F3.5-4.5
Tokina AT-X 28-70 F2.8
Tokina AT-X 70-210 F2.8
Minolta 50mm F1.7

I'm pretty sure the lens are fine, but I know they make digital specific lens and I'm not sure if it's just a special lens coating or something more that makes them different. But the flashes I'm not sure about. I remeber seeing something saying they could fry a DSLR but I'm not 100% sure about that. So since I haven't picked up a Shutterbug or Modern Photo in over 8-10 years, help me out a little.

And if this is in the wrong forum, forgive me again.

Some of my work...
RocketLaunch6505.jpg

fire5688.jpg

sharon5687.jpg

Kate5695.jpg

Comments

• Options
    MrBook2MrBook2 Registered Users Posts: 211 Major grins
    edited January 14, 2008
    I can't tell you much....