Options

Canon 40D book recommendations?

blalorblalor Registered Users Posts: 94 Big grins
edited March 14, 2009 in Cameras
Good evening, all. I picked up a new 40D (and 17-55 IS) :barb last week and now I'm trying to figure out how to use it. :) I've had a 350D for about two years, so I'm not a complete novice, but there are a bunch of things (various noise reduction options, for example) which the manual tells you how to enable but doesn't say squat about what they actually do. The Magic Lantern guides seem like a pretty good bet, but the one for the 40D's not out 'til March. There are several others that turn up on Amazon, but without a recommendation for a "sure thing", I thought I'd ask around here first. :scratch

Suggestions?

Comments

• Options
    TeamSpeedTeamSpeed Registered Users Posts: 261 Major grins
    edited December 28, 2007
    The Digital Field Guide is a good read, not too dry, and teaches you the camera along with great picture samples. Should be around $13 usd on Amazon.
    7D, 70-200L IS, 17-55 IS 2.8, 150 2.8 macro, 12-24, 100-400L, 85 1.8, 50 1.4
  • Options
    salazarsalazar Registered Users Posts: 392 Major grins
    edited December 30, 2007
    While it isn't a book and is only 44 pages long, Canon's White Paper on the 40D does go into some detail on the new features and does help to explain them a bit more. EOS 40D White Paper. (2.8 MB PDF) thumb.gif
    Please feel free to retouch and repost my images. Critique, Suggestions, and Technique tips always welcomed. Thanks for your interest.
  • Options
    edited December 30, 2007
    salazar wrote:
    While it isn't a book and is only 44 pages long, Canon's White Paper on the 40D does go into some detail on the new features and does help to explain them a bit more. EOS 40D White Paper. (2.8 MB PDF) thumb.gif
    Thanks for that, salazar. I grabbed that months ago and forgot about it!
  • Options
    TommyboyTommyboy Registered Users Posts: 590 Major grins
    edited December 30, 2007