Options

PC System Build / Quiet but Powerful

ChrisJChrisJ Registered Users Posts: 2,164 Major grins
edited April 18, 2007 in Digital Darkroom
My old PC needed an upgrade... I'd been gradually upgrading components but I finally decided that my motherboard/cpu were too dated (Athlon XP 2700+). As an IT professional, I know a lot about components, but I still did a lot of research to build the right system for me.

My goal was Quiet but Powerful, some compromises were made each way.

Here's my summary:

$331, CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600.
Best bang for the buck. Stock CPU cooler.

$185, Motherboard - Asus P5B Deluxe (w/o Wifi)
I don't overclock, so I chose this over the newer NVidia boards. It uses a heat pipe instead of fan for the chipset cooler. No fan = quiet.

$232, RAM - 2*1 Gig CORSAIR 240P TWIN2X2048-6400C4.
These are CAS-4 latency, some money can be saved going CAS-5.

$360, Video Card - eVGA 640MB nVidia 8800 GTS
Normal users can save some money here. I like the potential for gaming even if I can't do it much anymore. Great performance, low noise. I can't believe my video card has 640 MEG of RAM (and it cost more than CPU)!!!

$ 60, System Disk - Western Digital Caviar RE WD1600AAJS 160G
These drives are rated fast and quiet.

$130, Data Disk - Western Digital Caviar RE2 WD5000AAKS 500GB
These drives are rated fast and quiet.

$120, DVD - Plextor PX-755SA
Plextor has gotten a bad rap lately, but I've still been satisfied with their drives. I'll keep buying them until I get a dud. It is louder than I would like, but that's kind of the nature of things that spin discs fast.

$ 65, Case - Antec Sonata II
I love this case, I've had the original Sonata for many years. It's quiet and very easy to work with.

$120, Power Supply - Corsair CMPSU-520HX.
The Antec PS was probably sufficient. But this one is more powerful, quieter, and has modular connectors. Most people could save the money though.

$145, OS - Windows XP OEM