Options

Macbook Pro good enough for photo editing?

David TaylorDavid Taylor Registered Users Posts: 146 Major grins
edited November 14, 2006 in Digital Darkroom
:dunno Title sorta says it all. At the moment I have a Gateway laptop and the screen is next to useless to do anything accurate on (not that any of my images are masterpieces :cry). I want a lappie because I like the flexibility they offer. I also think Apple is subliminally seducing me....

I'm thinking of a MBP that I could connect to a 23 inch ACD and then have a dual display. Is that possible? Can the MBP screen be calibrated?

I know you guys have the answers :wink

Comments

• Options
    wxwaxwxwax Registered Users Posts: 15,471 Major grins
    edited September 10, 2006
    Mac newbie here. I use a Macbook, not a Pro.

Yes, the screens can be calibrated.

Your plan is exactly what I'm contemplating, if the new MBP has enough memory.
    Sid.
    Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam
    http://www.mcneel.com/users/jb/foghorn/ill_shut_up.au
  • Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    ne_nau.gif Title sorta says it all. At the moment I have a Gateway laptop and the screen is next to useless to do anything accurate on (not that any of my images are masterpieces :cry). I want a lappie because I like the flexibility they offer. I also think Apple is subliminally seducing me....

I'm thinking of a MBP that I could connect to a 23 inch ACD and then have a dual display. Is that possible? Can the MBP screen be calibrated?

I know you guys have the answers mwink.gif
    Macbook Pro here, 2gb RAM, Photoshop CS2, it works great. I use it for field editing and on the road.
  • Options
    Thanks wxwax. I see that the MBP maxes out at 2 GB ram. Are the new ones expected to have more?
  • Options
    Andy, how much do you trust it for editing?
  • Options
    StevenVStevenV Registered Users Posts: 1,174 Major grins
    fwiw...