Options

easiest way to handle tons of captions and keywords?

tnierduffytnierduffy Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited November 21, 2007 in SmugMug Support
I'm just getting started loading up my thousands of family pictures to smugmug and am fairly new to this all. Going digital has added a new dimension to my love for pics! Anyway, I've noticed conversations re: adding captions directly to the pics locally on my machine somehow and then loading them up for use in smugmug.

My question is..what is the easiest way to organize all of my pics and add captions + keywords? I use lots of captions and keywords and would ideally organize, classify, and describe my pictures locally on my machine... then upload and have that info used by smugmug. Is that possible and if so, what is the best software to use for this purpose?

Thanks!
Tamara

Comments

• Options
    Mike LaneMike Lane Registered Users Posts: 7,106 Major grins
    edited June 6, 2006
    tnierduffy wrote:
    I'm just getting started loading up my thousands of family pictures to smugmug and am fairly new to this all. Going digital has added a new dimension to my love for pics! Anyway, I've noticed conversations re: adding captions directly to the pics locally on my machine somehow and then loading them up for use in smugmug.

My question is..what is the easiest way to organize all of my pics and add captions + keywords? I use lots of captions and keywords and would ideally organize, classify, and describe my pictures locally on my machine... then upload and have that info used by smugmug. Is that possible and if so, what is the best software to use for this purpose?

Thanks!
    Tamara

The best software? I don't know, but I do know that Photoshop works very, very well. Just do whatever it is you want to your photos and then update the IPTC info with the caption and keywords before you save it as a jpg. Then upload to smugmug and revel in the keyword-captiony goodness.