Options

Golf shoot

GiselleGiselle Registered Users Posts: 367 Major grins
edited May 1, 2006 in Sports
Hi All
I have a shoot this Friday for a golfing event. It will be a 3pm. I have never done this before, if any of you have, I would love to hear any advise or of mistakes to learn from.
I know they want some action shots, all foursomes, winner shots and candids at the crawfish boil afterwards. Thanks
Giselle

Comments

• Options
    W.W. WebsterW.W. Webster Registered Users Posts: 3,204 Major grins
    edited April 27, 2006
    The one golden rule!
    Giselle wrote:
    I would love to hear any advise or of mistakes to learn from.
    Never, ever, click the shutter within earshot of any player who is in the process of readying for, or actually playing, a shot until after the club has struck the ball!
  • Options
    jrglassjrglass Registered Users Posts: 39 Big grins
    edited April 27, 2006
    I'm not sure what type of shots you have in mind. I followed a couple of "up and coming" golfers around and ended up with some shots I really liked. Check them out at http://www.jrglassphotography.com/gallery/362355 and see any of those shots gives you an idea.
    Never, ever, click the shutter within earshot of any player who is in the process of readying for, or actually playing, a shot until after the club has struck the ball!
  • Options
    VMacVMac Registered Users Posts: 68 Big grins
    edited April 27, 2006
    Well, shooting for clients is much different than the general sports photography I like to shoot (since the former is mostly about making sure you get good, recognizable shots of each individual). That said, here's what I learned in my very limited experience with golf:

If you time the bunker (sand blast) shot just right, it is almost always a winner.

Don't be afraid to bring your longest lenses -- not only to get around the noise issue noted above, but to create some dramatic shots (particularly off the tee).