Options

How do I create a Blog through smugmug?

sgtbilkosgtbilko Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
hello! I am really new to smugmug and do not have a great understanding of how to build a website. I have manged to make most of my site but now I am trying to build a blog through my smugmug site (rather than link to wordpress etc).

I know this is possible, I am just struggling a bit with how to set up my folders / pages etc so that they all sit nicely on the Blog page allowing the viewer to scroll down and can choose which post to read.

I have got as far as setting up a page which the navigation bar links to and which also has embedded a particular gallery. What I can't figure out is how to link the navigation bar to a folder rather than a page. My logic being, if it links to a folder, then this will expand and provide the viewer access to various blog pages within (as you would expect from a blog!)

I hope this makes sense! If so, can anyone advise please?

Many thanks in advance!
sgtbilko

Comments

• Options
    AllenAllen Registered Users Posts: 10,011 Major grins
    edited February 24, 2014
    Have to tried to create a folder at the top level and in that folder put all your blog pages/galleries?
    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website index | My Blog
  • Options
    Ann McRaeAnn McRae Registered Users Posts: 4,584 Major grins
    edited February 24, 2014
    Have you seen this article?
    We'd suggest using a Folder to hold your pages, one page per article on your blog. You can customize the folder to display the pages within it, or you can take that further and add a page content block per article so that they display in an order that you can control. We've done something similar here, for example. That is a page that holds several page content blocks, in a particular order for display purposes. Those individual articles are pages that are within other folders on that site.

Hope that helps.

ann
    sgtbilko wrote: »