Options

S1, V1 adapter

ArtyGArtyG Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited June 11, 2013 in Accessories
Hi! I am new to the forum. I am an old retired photographer with a D200 and recently a Nikon S1 and V1.
I bought an adapter that will allow me to use any old Nikon mount lens on the cameras but when I mount one I get a sign that tells me I need to use a lens if I want to ,take a picture. I am betting there is a software up load I can apply but I couldn't find it at the Nikon site. Any ideas? My adapter is not the Nikon adapter that saves auto focus, etc. But mine was only $20 mailed to me all the way from China! Any ideas?

Comments

• Options
    ian408ian408 Administrators Posts: 21,910 moderator
    edited May 30, 2013
    Have you tried using the camera in Manual mode when you're using the adapter?
    Moderator Journeys/Sports/Big Picture :: Need some help with dgrin?
  • Options
    ArtyGArtyG Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
    edited May 31, 2013
    That might do it if I can figure it out.
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,817 moderator
    edited May 31, 2013
    ArtyG wrote: »
    That might do it if I can figure it out.

If you are asking, "How do I set the Nikon V1 to manual focus mode?", I believe you will find the procedure listed on pages 52-55 of the user manual, or in this PDF:

http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/kie88335f7869dfuejdl=-cww2/1V1RM_EN.pdf

Additionally, I think that you need the camera to be in either Manual mode or Aperture Priority mode in order to use the adapter and "F-mount" lenses. See pages 116 and 115 respectively.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • Options
    FotodioxSaraFotodioxSara Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
    edited June 11, 2013