Feedback on Feedback?

johnlogukjohnloguk Registered Users Posts: 137 Major grins
edited February 23, 2012 in The Dgrin Challenges
I'm not a regular commenter generally on Dgrin, although I have been doing the Challenges for a couple of years now. One burning question that I keep meaning to ask is "how valuable do people find feedback on their pics before Challenges"?

I see a lot of people posting ideas and experiments for feedback before they decide on an entry, but I've never done it myself. My reasoning is that much of the advice and feedback is contradictory, and I think I'd be left more confused rather than set on a particular image. That isn't a criticism of the feedback by the way, just an observation of how we all see things differently and have pet likes/dislikes.

It is maybe easier to be objective with technical criticism, there are after all lots of "rules" about photography. But most of those rules are regularly broken very successfully, and we'd be restricting ourselves horribly if we only stuck to rule books. Photography is an art not a science.

Unless an image is badly flawed technically, big smudge across the middle or painful composition for example, I tend to judge photos purely on the WOW factor. How does a shot move me, is it boring, cliched, does it leap off the screen/page at me? What affects me in these ways may well not do the same to someone else, which is what makes photography so difficult to judge. An image judged by one person alone is bound to be subject to their personal prejudices, so a wider spectrum of criticism/feedback should be useful. So after all this rambling I come full circle, how useful do people find the pre-competition feedback?

Comments

• ghinsonghinson Registered Users Posts: 933 Major grins
    edited February 21, 2012