Blurb: Good Enough for a Wedding Client???

LeeHawkinsLeeHawkins Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
edited January 7, 2012 in Mind Your Own Business
I am still a bit new to full-service photography, as in doing albums and photo books... I am finishing my first photo book using Blurb's BookSmart software, and I LOVE how everything looks on my super-sharp backlit monitor (photos always look so much brighter on screen), but I have read MANY places, including this forum, that Blurb's quality may not be up to certain professional standards--however, most of these posts are quite old (like 2007-2009) and I'm interested in other professional smuggers' opinions about the highest-quality Blurb books. I have read in multiple places, that even on Blurb's professional-grade paper, photos look washed out...and I want mine to POP like they do on screen. If they don't, I'm going to tell my client they can see the book and offer feedback, but on the back side, I'm going to go somewhere else and redo everything (as BookSmart does not export to PDF) so that things will look AWESOME. Note please that I didn't charge a lot of money for this photobook...only about $300...but I am interested more in making a statement with the book with awesome looking pictures, because I'm sure it will lead me to some solid referrals...but at the same time, if Blurb can help me get by with a decent-quality book where the pics still pop, then I will same the time I'll need to invest to redo in PDF to send to AsukaBook or something comparable...

BTW, it's a 12"x12" book I've designed, and I'm currently waiting for Blurb's swatch book to arrive before placing any purchases. Although if I get some good strong votes from other pro smuggers here, then I'll push things through sooner, as my clients have already waited for quite some time for me to get this to them :-/

I'm interested in any thoughts you folks might have...

Comments

• zoomerzoomer Registered Users Posts: 3,688 Major grins