Options

The security of Apple Macs

luke_churchluke_church Registered Users Posts: 507 Major grins
edited October 25, 2005 in The Big Picture
OK guys, so this is an area I'm interested in. I'm trying to centralise the conversation here so I don't polute anyone elses threads.

Cavet: I'm writing from the top of my head, I will make mistakes.

My interest: I'm doing academic research at the moment into how usability affects security. AKA the HCI of security, I assert that a huge number of failures are caused by security usability, not technical security. I'm interested both in the attacker and defender psychology.

Further interest: I have some experience with Windows machines, I'm in the process of acquiring a MacOS machine. It was suggested that I might like to document my experiences. This is my opening skeptcism.

So, security and Apples is interesting.

I seriously doubt that OSX is a technically very secure operating system. My reasons:

1. It's based on a FreeBSD derivative. FreeBSD is not all that good for security. It's a UNIX system, the core OS is generally not that bad, the surrounding components are generally fairly weak. (e.g. the last 10 emails I've recieved from Bug traq) (having said which BSD seems to be better than Linux, so maybe there's hope)

1 - KOffice KWord buffer overflow (Un*x application)
2 - PHP SQL insertion attack (All)
3 - Ubutnu SSL problem (Un*x library)
4 - Un*x 3rd party buffer overrun software problem
5 - Stack overrun in authentication on a Un*x variant
6 - iTunes DOS attack (OSX + Windows application software)
7 - Gallery infromation disclosure attack (3rd party)
8 - SQL injection attack (3rd party)
9 - Ubuntu vulnerability (Un*x)
10 - XMail vulnerability (3rd party)

So blah, not exactly great for ~36 hours...