Options

Mission Peak - First HDR Attempt

PilotBradPilotBrad Registered Users Posts: 339 Major grins
edited March 16, 2011 in Landscapes
So this is my first attempt at HDR. I used Nik's HDR Efex Pro (demo) and tweaked one of their landscape presets. What do you think? Overdone? Too much this? Too little that? C&C appreciated. Thanks!

1214942414_tcoKw-XL-1.jpg

Comments

• Options
    Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Registered Users Posts: 5,455 Major grins
    edited March 13, 2011
    I always cringe when I open up a 'HDR thread' because most that I see are way over-done. This is refreshing, I think you did a great job!
  • Options
    mr peasmr peas Registered Users Posts: 1,369 Major grins
    edited March 13, 2011
    You can barely tell, I like it! GJ!
  • Options
    bnickesonbnickeson Registered Users Posts: 83 Big grins
    edited March 13, 2011
    I usually hate HDR's with a passion but this one is really well done. I don't see any bad haloing or fringing and the colors appear natural. Great job!

By the way, that's an incredible view!
  • Options
    hawkeye978hawkeye978 Registered Users Posts: 1,218 Major grins
    edited March 13, 2011
    It's a nice conversion. Realistic rendering while bringing out the details. One of the problems with HDR conversion is that it tends to bring lots of contrast to the whole picture so you lose emphasis on the subject or where you want the viewers eye to start. I wonder if darkening the foreground rocks slightly would give you a little more interest in the front of the picture. Help distinguish the rocks from the grass.
  • Options
    edited March 13, 2011
    Thanks everyone! I'm really not one for those tonemapped HDR photos, but I do like them when they look realistic.