Tripod, shake reduction question.

oldovaloldoval Registered Users Posts: 456 Major grins
edited January 27, 2011 in Technique
I'm a complete beginner when it comes to DSLRs. I just purchased a new Pentax K-X and noticed in a couple of places in the manual it mentions to be sure to turn OFF the shake reduction when using a tripod. It even prefaces it in one instance with a "Warning".

Why? Is this a common technique? This seems counter intuitive.....wouldn't one want as much shake reduction as available? What would be the negatives in leaving ON shake reduction while on a tripod?

Please help me shed some light on this.

Comments

• TonyCooperTonyCooper Registered Users Posts: 2,276 Major grins
    edited January 19, 2011
    oldoval wrote: »
    I'm a complete beginner when it comes to DSLRs. I just purchased a new Pentax K-X and noticed in a couple of places in the manual it mentions to be sure to turn OFF the shake reduction when using a tripod. It even prefaces it in one instance with a "Warning".

Why? Is this a common technique? This seems counter intuitive.....wouldn't one want as much shake reduction as available? What would be the negatives in leaving ON shake reduction while on a tripod?

Please help me shed some light on this.

This is often discussed, but people come down on both sides of the question. The theory is that the auto-focus will look for a shake and try to stabilize it, so the image will not be as sharp because the auto focus is searching. However, most "experts" seem to feel that the only time you need to turn the VR off is when using a tripod and a remote release with a long lens. But, then, other experts say there's nothing to it.

Tripods are not as stable as you might think if there's some wind. Personally, I leave the VR on, but then my longest lens is a 200mm. I do use a remote release because to minimize shake if the subject is static.
    Tony Cooper - Orlando, Florida
    http://tonycooper.smugmug.com/