Options

>>> nw scout, People Photo Challenge #12 winner

nw scoutnw scout Registered Users Posts: 256 Major grins
edited November 2, 2010 in People
1010137454_BipyW-L.jpg
"Dirty Boys" Emotions contest winner

WHO ARE YOU...
Hi there everyone.
The real world knows me as Dave. I have been a professional freelance photographer for the last 17 years or so.
I have a few small clients but do most of my work as a free lance cameraman for a few different production companies and large studios here on the West Coast. I live in the Portland area but do most of my work "on location" all around the country.

896490891_B4th6-L.jpg

WHEN DID YOU JOIN DGRIN / WHICH FORUMS DO YOU FREQUENT THE MOST...
Gonna need to look that up...
Looks like Feb 09.
I joined up a few years after my boys were born. I was tired of all the traveling and wanted to do more local work so I could spend more time with them. I liked Smugmugs site as a way to post and sell images locally and joined Dgrin to learn more about it.
Its also nice to see other peoples work. Sometimes you can get to caught up in your own style and vision. Dgrin makes it easy to see what everyone else is doing, and that can open up new creative ideas.

I am mostly on the SPORTS forum, but also enjoy the JOURNEY'S, PEOPLE and OTHER COOL SHOTS.

673494190_CgoVv-L-1.jpg

HOW DID YOU GET STARTED IN PHOTOGRAPHY...
I had graduated college with a 2 year degree and still no idea what I wanted to do in life.
I decided to take a road trip and climb all over the West Coast. I had Smith Rocks, Yosemite, Moab and a few other places on my list to hit. My Dad was excited for me and bought me a camera so I could take some pics of my travels. I think it was there, high on the cliffs of Yosemite where I realized I wanted to shoot pics for a living. I remember thinking "Man, if I could make a living doing this, that would be cool"

1029212710_mV2mz-L.jpg

DO YOU HAVE ANY PHOTOGRAPHY TRAINING...
Yes.