Options

I need 580 EX II help!!

fashioncopfashioncop Registered Users Posts: 30 Big grins
edited April 23, 2010 in Technique
Hi,

I am having the hardest time understanding how to set my external flash to not be so bright and use it as a fill for shadows. I am at race tracks taking pictures of teams, drivers etc. The people usually are inside a garage with the sun shining nice and bright. I usually get the people lit up but my background is blown out. I also have teams on pit lane and they are under an easy up and the of course it is usually sunny. Can anyone help me understand how to light the people but not overexpose the background?

thanks,

Melissa

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,887 moderator
    edited April 16, 2010
    Do you have any examples that show the problem?

Do you use the FEC to regulate the flash contribution?

Do you use HSS/FP mode to allow higher shutter speeds to help control ambient exposure?

What shooting mode do you use? (Program, Auto, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority, Manual?)
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • Options
    rwellsrwells Registered Users Posts: 6,084 Major grins
    edited April 16, 2010
    Put your camera in manual mode ~ set shutter speed to max X-sync speed ~ Use a low ISO ~ adjust ambient via aperture ~ now turn flash on ETTL and let it do it's thing ~ adjust FEC to taste
    > ambient is now how you want it, and your subjects are exposed correctly thumb.gif

You might want to spend some time here: www.planetneil.com
    Randy
  • Options
    edited April 16, 2010