Options

>>> Swartzy, People Photo Challenge #5 winner

ivarivar Registered Users Posts: 8,395 Major grins
edited April 9, 2010 in People
Swartzy won the people photo challenge #5: Photoshop. I asked him to answer a few questions, and this is what he told me:

WHO ARE YOU? Hello everyone! My name is Dave Swartz. I'm 53 years old, have 3 children and 3 grandchildren. My wife and I just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary on the 30th (March). I live in the Minneapolis/St. Paul suburbs. Here's a pic taken by my son in law with 2 of the grandsons (Magnus, the oldest, and Axel, the youngest)
679761625_yiHAG-XL.jpg

We love being Grandparents and as a photographer I love capturing them :)
778202050_ubupo-M.jpg804634888_n2Qef-M.jpg778200104_vkpWM-M.jpg

WHEN DID YOU JOIN DGRIN? WHICH FORUM(S) DO YOU FREQUENT MOST? I joined Dgrin and Smugmug at the same time, August of 2006. I bounce around a bit from Weddings, to People and Landscapes. Portraiture and landscapes thrill me! Both have their place in my life (and my walls...LOL) and love to incorporate both at times into one shot.
475909712_BiHBb-XL-3.jpg

278353916_iN6XK-XL.jpg

809879026_buJtm-XL.jpg

HOW DID YOU GET STARTED IN PHOTOGRAPHY? DID YOU HAVE ANY PHOTOGRAPHY TRAINING? My Grandfather was a master photographer. He was (as far as I know) the first to develop color in western Pennsylvania. He won 3 first place awards from Kodak Eastman back in the late 30's early 40's. I fortunately got the "photo gene" and he was the first to put a camera in my hands. As a kid I would help him develop film, mix chemicals and watch him enlarge.

I've been photographing just about my entire life. I took classes in high school and some college level classes. My major was music. Much of my training was reading numerous books, magazines and hanging out with some photo geeks (my 1st brother in law was a camera man in the motion picture industry and a fine still photographer). I've always been a better learner by doing.