Options

Can't seem to Autofocus-->Nikon D90 Autofocus not working

limited60limited60 Registered Users Posts: 17 Big grins
edited March 22, 2010 in Technique
I am a novice with a Nikon D90 and D40, with the basic kit lenses (18-55 f/3.5 - 5.6 and 55-200).

I only recently bought the D90, but have found that it is very finicky with its autofocus. Meaning: In some situations, it won't autofocus while in any shooting mode.

This has happened a few times before, in various locations and lighting situations, and I've just played it off as me being inexperienced, but this a.m. I set up on a ridge on my tripod with the 18-55 lens hoping to get some shots of the mountains being lit by the sun as it came up, and, same thing. It tried to focus once, then viewfinder just stayed blurry. Nothing I did would get it to focus.

So I brought the camera inside and tried taking a few shots in a well lit room, and there was a lot of "thinking" going on with the autofocus--in, out, and back in again before actually getting focused. I put the lens on my D40, and it was lightning fast getting focused and took the picture 100% of the time.

Can anyone explain why this might be happening here?

I know the D90 is a much smarter camera, and definately a more complex piece of hardware, but I just want to rule out photographer error before I start thinking the camera might be at fault. I have less than 200 actuations, so it really is brand new.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    Wil DavisWil Davis Registered Users Posts: 1,692 Major grins
    edited March 12, 2010
    Auto focus is not foolproof, and there's usually a section in the manual which deals with conditions where auto focus might not work as well as expected; in the manual for my Nikon the section is titled "Getting Good Results with Autofocus".

Are you able to get good results using manual focus?

HTH -

- Wil

BTW - Welcome to DGPF!
    "…………………" - Marcel Marceau
  • Options
    edited March 12, 2010