Options

Canon XSi or Nikon D3000?

Nate15Nate15 Registered Users Posts: 15 Big grins
edited February 6, 2010 in Cameras
I am a very new photographer and am looking for a new camera that I can take better pictures than I am getting right now. I have up to $600.00 to spend on one. Which camera do you think I should get? Canon XSi or the Nikon D3000? I am interested in landscape and floral photography.

Thanks for your help!
The bigger the chalenge, the more room for success.

Canon EOS Rebel XSi
18-55mm EF-S lens

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,852 moderator
    edited February 5, 2010
    If you're coming from the Samsung SL202 (in your profile), there is plenty of opportunity for improvement.

The first thing you may find interesting is that the camera itself has relatively little to do with ultimate image quality. More important is the lighting and the lenses, in that order.

What sort of landscapes are you interested in?

Vista
    Panoramic
    Nature
    Sea
    City
    Alternate perspective

Is the floral photography natural or indoor? What sizes are the flowers? What is the emphasis? (Personal enjoyment, promotional, ?)
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • Options
    edited February 5, 2010
    Thanks so much for the reply Ziggy! I am very interested in nature photography and outdoor flower shots. I also like to take photos of things that most people would not think of to take. I have gotten some GREAT shots off of my Samsung. But I feel the need to upgrade.

Canon EOS Rebel XSi
    18-55mm EF-S lens
  • Options
    edited February 5, 2010
    This is the type of photos I like to shoot. To give you an idea.

Canon EOS Rebel XSi
    18-55mm EF-S lens
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,852 moderator
    edited February 5, 2010
    Nate15 wrote: