Options

The Smart Galleries and Collect Photos Help Thread

AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
edited October 19, 2011 in SmugMug Support
[imgl]http://cmac.inside.smugmug.net/Other/Forum-photos/ReeseyBlog/147854_niPxw-M.jpg[/imgl] Today we released Smart Galleries :barb Until today, your galleries could only contain actual photos and videos that you uploaded. Now they can also display virtual copies so that one photo can be displayed in many locations.

This was also the #1 request on our feature request forum. :smo

The details are in the Release Notes and our help pages for Collecting Photos and for Smart Gallery Settings.

We'll answer all your questions here, or you can also write our Support Heroes as well!

[imgl]http://cdn.smugmug.com/img/help/smart-galleries/smart-galleries-rules.jpg[/imgl]

FAQs to come, right here.

Do collected photos obey the gallery settings from the original gallery? Yes.

I'm a Pro - why on earth would I want other people on SmugMug to collect my photos on their website? Since the collected photos respect your rules (size displayed, right click, pricing, for sale, not for sale, etc) and have a link back to your site, it's a great way for your stuff to be out there in more places, seen by more people.

Bah. I don't want my photos collected by anyone. No problem. Go to control panel, settings tab, and turn collecting off, sitewide. Or, set specific galleries to be unlisted, or external links off, or have a gallery or site password.

If I post an image on a forum using the link from the virtual copy, does the original image get hit with stat counts? Yup, indeed it will.

Comments

• Options
    SeamusSeamus Registered Users Posts: 1,573 Major grins
    edited January 27, 2010
    It's magic !! that link is to a trial gallery i just setup, I followed the instructions on the help page and; BOOM the photos are there.

Thanks a mill folks, this is brilliant.

Shay.
  • Options