Options

Any experience with aftermarket canon grips for 5d mark 2?

tijosephtijoseph Registered Users Posts: 187 Major grins
edited April 25, 2009 in Accessories
I have come accross this grip for the mark 2. While I buy pretty much only canon genuine stuff, the price on this seems pretty attractive. Has anyone had any experience with this or something like it?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Battery-Grip-for-Canon-EOS-5D-Mark-II-BG-E6-Camera-B7E_W0QQitemZ230332317844QQcmdZViewItemQQptZBatteries_Chargers?hash=item230332317844&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318%7C301%3A1%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50

Comments

• Options
    edited April 18, 2009
    bumpity bump bump
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,810 moderator
    edited April 18, 2009
    I have no experience with that grip but I use an Opteka battery grip on my Canon XT/350D and in around 3 years I haven't had any serious problems with it. One time I had to clean the contacts but other tham that it's worked fine for me.

I do believe that quality control of the third party grips is sporadic and that the factory grips are of better build. Even the factory grips can have problems so it's probably best to buy from a source that has a decent return policy.

If you purchase from an EBay source I do think that to be one of the riskier methods and I do not recommend that you invest more than you can afford to lose. As long as you understand the risk, and if you really need the grip and can't afford the factory grip, the price for that link is very reasonable.

I don't think I would go for it myself.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • Options
    Manfr3dManfr3d Registered Users Posts: 2,008 Major grins
    edited April 21, 2009