Options

Problems with IE and viewing Thumbs on Gallery Page

pjspicspjspics Registered Users Posts: 296 Major grins
edited November 29, 2008 in SmugMug Support
I have just uploaded a couple of new pics and now in IE I cant see my thumbs here:
http://www.paul-griffiths.net/galleries
All I get is the text and small squares.
I have tried Firefox and all ok - but this may be cached somewhere.

I did delete a featured photo at the same time if that helps - I have reloaded the same pic and featured it again but no change to the problem.
Can you Help

Comments

  • Options
    jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    pjspics wrote:
    I have just uploaded a couple of new pics and now in IE I cant see my thumbs here:
    http://www.paul-griffiths.net/galleries
    All I get is the text and small squares.
    I have tried Firefox and all ok - but this may be cached somewhere.

    I did delete a featured photo at the same time if that helps - I have reloaded the same pic and featured it again but no change to the problem.
    Can you Help
    You have a javascript error on the page that only causes a problem in IE. I can't tell exactly where the error is (thanks to IE's horrendous error reporting), but here are some discrepencies to correct and see if it helps:

    <script language="javascript">document.title="Paul Griffiths Galleries";</script>

    Put a semilcolon at the end of the javascript statement.

    Change:

    onPhotoShow.subscribe(function(){YE.onAvailable('mainImage', delHover)});


    to

    onPhotoShow.subscribe(delHover);

    Change:

    function setPaypalForm(form) {
    urlToImage = AlbumID + " - Filename: " + photoInfo[ImageID];
    form.item_name.value = urlToImage;
    }

    to:

    function setPaypalForm(form) {
    var urlToImage = AlbumID + " - Filename: " + photoInfo[ImageID];
    form.item_name.value = urlToImage;
    }


    I don't know if any of these will address the issue, but it's worth fixing them anyway.
    --John
    HomepagePopular
    JFriend's javascript customizationsSecrets for getting fast answers on Dgrin
    Always include a link to your site when posting a question
  • Options
    jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    And one more. You have:

    <body onload="doOnLoad();" class="category category_Galleries tempClass notLoggedIn bodyColor_Black">

    but you have no function doOnLoad defined. Either put that function into your JS or remove the onload="doOnLoad()" from the body tag in your customization.
    --John
    HomepagePopular
    JFriend's javascript customizationsSecrets for getting fast answers on Dgrin
    Always include a link to your site when posting a question
  • Options
    pjspicspjspics Registered Users Posts: 296 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    jfriend wrote:
    You have a javascript error on the page that only causes a problem in IE. I can't tell exactly where the error is (thanks to IE's horrendous error reporting), but here are some discrepencies to correct and see if it helps:

    <script language="javascript">document.title="Paul Griffiths Galleries";</script>

    Put a semilcolon at the end of the javascript statement.

    Change:

    onPhotoShow.subscribe(function(){YE.onAvailable('mainImage', delHover)});

    to

    onPhotoShow.subscribe(delHover);

    Change:

    function setPaypalForm(form) {
    urlToImage = AlbumID + " - Filename: " + photoInfo[ImageID];
    form.item_name.value = urlToImage;
    }

    to:

    function setPaypalForm(form) {
    var urlToImage = AlbumID + " - Filename: " + photoInfo[ImageID];
    form.item_name.value = urlToImage;
    }


    I don't know if any of these will address the issue, but it's worth fixing them anyway.

    Thanks for the info John, but it looks like the problem is still there and still showing errors on my pages.
    I see line 107 error and 106 etc. Do you see these from where you view my page or is info like this helpful at all?
  • Options
    pjspicspjspics Registered Users Posts: 296 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    pjspics wrote:
    Thanks for the info John, but it looks like the problem is still there and still showing errors on my pages.
    I see line 107 error and 106 etc. Do you see these from where you view my page or is info like this helpful at all?

    Sorry John, just seen your second entry - let me try that first
  • Options
    pjspicspjspics Registered Users Posts: 296 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    pjspics wrote:
    Sorry John, just seen your second entry - let me try that first

    John - I can't find the info on your second comment on my site.
    All the info I have has been copied and pasted to my Java or CSS pages.
    Can you give me a little more info on what I need to add or remove and from where?
    Much appreciated
  • Options
    jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    pjspics wrote:
    John - I can't find the info on your second comment on my site.
    All the info I have has been copied and pasted to my Java or CSS pages.
    Can you give me a little more info on what I need to add or remove and from where?
    Much appreciated

    Sorry, I assumed you knew where that was. Go to your site-wide customization page. Scroll down to the section that says "Body Tag" and delete everything from that field, then hit the Update button at the bottom of the page.
    --John
    HomepagePopular
    JFriend's javascript customizationsSecrets for getting fast answers on Dgrin
    Always include a link to your site when posting a question
  • Options
    pjspicspjspics Registered Users Posts: 296 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    jfriend wrote:
    Sorry, I assumed you knew where that was. Go to your site-wide customization page. Scroll down to the section that says "Body Tag" and delete everything from that field, then hit the Update button at the bottom of the page.

    No worries - done that but still not working.
    The errors on page seem to have now gone though.
  • Options
    pjspicspjspics Registered Users Posts: 296 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    pjspics wrote:
    No worries - done that but still not working.
    The errors on page seem to have now gone though.

    Just for info - the 2 galleries that I was updateing at the time are in my PEOPLE galleries.
    I uploaded an new pic to each of the 2 galleries.
    I also deleted the featured pic on XANTHIA without un-featuring it first.
    Not sure if that makes any difference.
    I have sinse deleted the pics I uploaded, reloaded the pic I had featured originaly in XANTHIA and re-featured it.
    So basically all is as was before I had the problems.
  • Options
    ThandoThando Registered Users Posts: 148 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    pjspics wrote:
    I have just uploaded a couple of new pics and now in IE I cant see my thumbs here:
    http://www.paul-griffiths.net/galleries
    All I get is the text and small squares.
    I have tried Firefox and all ok - but this may be cached somewhere.

    I did delete a featured photo at the same time if that helps - I have reloaded the same pic and featured it again but no change to the problem.
    Can you Help

    So sorry. It seems we recently broke something there. This only happens in internet explorer. If you have your galleries set to display by categories and you have a gallery inside the category that has a featured photo, then the thumbnail on the category won't show. Same thing happens with a subcategory. It doesn't matter which gallery in the category it is. The only way to make the thumbnails show is to remove the featured photo. That's in the Tools menu under the Gallery section. Again, we're sorry about this and we'll get to fixin' it.
  • Options
    jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    pjspics wrote:
    Just for info - the 2 galleries that I was updateing at the time are in my PEOPLE galleries.
    I uploaded an new pic to each of the 2 galleries.
    I also deleted the featured pic on XANTHIA without un-featuring it first.
    Not sure if that makes any difference.
    I have sinse deleted the pics I uploaded, reloaded the pic I had featured originaly in XANTHIA and re-featured it.
    So basically all is as was before I had the problems.

    OK, I see a bunch of HTML problems that could be causing this. I will list what I find. Hopefully you can follow my description here and make the corrections and I can look at how IE is interpreting the page after these changes:
    1. You have multiple navbars with the same id="navcontainer". You can't do that. Only one object with a given id is allowed in the same page. If you want different CSS rules for each navbar, then name the other ones navcontainer2, navcontainer3, etc... If you want the same rules for each, the give them each a class="navbar" because many objects can all have the same class. Then you refer to a class in a CSS rule with a leading . instead of #.
    2. You have a <P style="COLOR: #3399FF; TEXT-ALIGN: center; text-decoration: none; text-shadow : 1px 2px 5px red;"> tag in your header that spans across several div tags before you close it with a </p>. IE does not seem to like that as it's goofing up the DOM structure of your document in IE. If you want those styles to be applied to the DIVs, then use CSS to style them that way using the DIV's id or class.
    3. You can't use an & character by itself in a text area of HTML. If you want that character to display, you have to use & You have one of these in your navbar.
    4. You have a bunch of <P style="COLOR: #3399FF; TEXT-ALIGN: center"> and <FONT size=1> tags in your footer with no closing tags on them. Please fix. In general, you should not be using <p> tags to do styling. Use <span style-""> or use CSS rules directly on the object containing the text or on a span around the text.
    --John
    HomepagePopular
    JFriend's javascript customizationsSecrets for getting fast answers on Dgrin
    Always include a link to your site when posting a question
  • Options
    jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    jfriend wrote:
    OK, I see a bunch of HTML problems that could be causing this. I will list what I find. Hopefully you can follow my description here and make the corrections and I can look at how IE is interpreting the page after these changes:
    1. You have multiple navbars with the same id="navcontainer". You can't do that. Only one object with a given id is allowed in the same page. If you want different CSS rules for each navbar, then name the other ones navcontainer2, navcontainer3, etc... If you want the same rules for each, the give them each a class="navbar" because many objects can all have the same class. Then you refer to a class in a CSS rule with a leading . instead of #.
    2. You have a <P style="COLOR: #3399FF; TEXT-ALIGN: center; text-decoration: none; text-shadow : 1px 2px 5px red;"> tag in your header that spans across several div tags before you close it with a </p>. IE does not seem to like that as it's goofing up the DOM structure of your document in IE. If you want those styles to be applied to the DIVs, then use CSS to style them that way using the DIV's id or class.
    3. You can't use an & character by itself in a text area of HTML. If you want that character to display, you have to use & You have one of these in your navbar.
    4. You have a bunch of <P style="COLOR: #3399FF; TEXT-ALIGN: center"> and <FONT size=1> tags in your footer with no closing tags on them. Please fix. In general, you should not be using <p> tags to do styling. Use <span style-""> or use CSS rules directly on the object containing the text or on a span around the text.

    OK, I see that Smugmug is taking ownership for the missing thumbnails. These are all still good things to fix if you want your page to display consistently in different browsers and want to avoid future errors when you change something else innocently.
    --John
    HomepagePopular
    JFriend's javascript customizationsSecrets for getting fast answers on Dgrin
    Always include a link to your site when posting a question
  • Options
    pjspicspjspics Registered Users Posts: 296 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    Thando wrote:
    So sorry. It seems we recently broke something there. This only happens in internet explorer. If you have your galleries set to display by categories and you have a gallery inside the category that has a featured photo, then the thumbnail on the category won't show. Same thing happens with a subcategory. It doesn't matter which gallery in the category it is. The only way to make the thumbnails show is to remove the featured photo. That's in the Tools menu under the Gallery section. Again, we're sorry about this and we'll get to fixin' it.

    Can you let us know when this is fixed as some of the photos now showing in my Galleries are not suitable to represent the Gallery correctly as I use THUMBS and not ORIGINAL (wrong shape and size now).
    Plus all my Friends and Family are now showing the Locked Thumb which is not good as I use the Feature option to remove this.
    Just glad it is looking a little better now I have my thumbs back, but this needs to be fixed ASAP so we can get back to as was.
    Thanks for your help - much appreciated.
  • Options
    ThandoThando Registered Users Posts: 148 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    pjspics wrote:
    Can you let us know when this is fixed as some of the photos now showing in my Galleries are not suitable to represent the Gallery correctly as I use THUMBS and not ORIGINAL (wrong shape and size now).
    Plus all my Friends and Family are now showing the Locked Thumb which is not good as I use the Feature option to remove this.
    Just glad it is looking a little better now I have my thumbs back, but this needs to be fixed ASAP so we can get back to as was.
    Thanks for your help - much appreciated.

    I'll try to keep an eye out for this fix. But, I don't know if it is going to be a quick fix or if it will take a while. So, that's a definite maybe.
  • Options
    gblottergblotter Registered Users Posts: 176 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    Thando wrote:
    I'll try to keep an eye out for this fix. But, I don't know if it is going to be a quick fix or if it will take a while. So, that's a definite maybe.
    We have hit the same problem on our SmugMug site. I'll be checking back for a resolution.
  • Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    gblotter wrote:
    We have hit the same problem on our SmugMug site. I'll be checking back for a resolution.
    Yeah we'll fix it, sorry!
  • Options
    pjspicspjspics Registered Users Posts: 296 Major grins
    edited November 26, 2008
    pjspics wrote:
    Can you let us know when this is fixed as some of the photos now showing in my Galleries are not suitable to represent the Gallery correctly as I use THUMBS and not ORIGINAL (wrong shape and size now).
    Plus all my Friends and Family are now showing the Locked Thumb which is not good as I use the Feature option to remove this.
    Just glad it is looking a little better now I have my thumbs back, but this needs to be fixed ASAP so we can get back to as was.
    Thanks for your help - much appreciated.

    John - thanks for pointing out the issues with my html.
    I have made an attempt at some of your requests and I am keen to get my site as 'clean' as I can.
    I am struggling with some of the info you have provided.
    As I said before, I have simply copied (done a bit of edditing) and pasted most of this from SM's customisation pages.
    I have done No. 1 - please check
    No. 2 I have looked at but not sure where to place the </p> to close - help...
    No. 3 I have removed the '&' sign and replaced with 'and'
    No. 4 I have tried to removed the <p> tags and replaced with the <span style-""> tags but all the text then is no longer centred - little help required here.

    This info and help is very much appreciated <img src="https://us.v-cdn.net/6029383/emoji/thumb.gif&quot; border="0" alt="" >
  • Options
    gblottergblotter Registered Users Posts: 176 Major grins
    edited November 27, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    Yeah we'll fix it, sorry!
    It looks like it is partially fixed now. With IE 6, I can now see thumbnails at the Gallery Subcategory level. However, no thumbnails appear at the Gallery Categories level. I assume you are still working on it?
  • Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited November 27, 2008
    gblotter wrote:
    It looks like it is partially fixed now. With IE 6, I can now see thumbnails at the Gallery Subcategory level. However, no thumbnails appear at the Gallery Categories level. I assume you are still working on it?
    I haven't gotten an update from Onethumb yet --- you wanna bang on his door? lol3.gif

    I've asked - thanks and sorry for the hassle, Greg.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you!
  • Options
    gblottergblotter Registered Users Posts: 176 Major grins
    edited November 27, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    Happy Thanksgiving to you!
    It will be a day of golfing, followed by over-eating, followed by uncomfortable fullness, followed by a long afternoon nap while lying on the floor in a secluded quiet corner of the living room while the kids rampage around the house with their cousins. Sounds perfect - no?
  • Options
    pjspicspjspics Registered Users Posts: 296 Major grins
    edited November 27, 2008
    gblotter wrote:
    It will be a day of golfing, followed by over-eating, followed by uncomfortable fullness, followed by a long afternoon nap while lying on the floor in a secluded quiet corner of the living room while the kids rampage around the house with their cousins. Sounds perfect - no?

    Hi, can anyone confirm that this is now fixed?
    It seems to be but would be good to get confirmation from SM
  • Options
    BaldyBaldy Registered Users, Super Moderators Posts: 2,853 moderator
    edited November 27, 2008
    pjspics wrote:
    Hi, can anyone confirm that this is now fixed?
    It seems to be but would be good to get confirmation from SM
    I've been on the help desk answering lots of questions about it. As of 10 minutes ago, it wasn't fixed but we have a test on our test servers that seems to be going well. I'm really sorry it's taken this long.

    We had done a lot of site optimizations this week for performance and this bug slipped past our testers.
  • Options
    gblottergblotter Registered Users Posts: 176 Major grins
    edited November 27, 2008
    pjspics wrote:
    Hi, can anyone confirm that this is now fixed?
    It seems to be but would be good to get confirmation from SM
    My SmugMug site seems to be working correctly now. All is well, all is well.
  • Options
    pjspicspjspics Registered Users Posts: 296 Major grins
    edited November 28, 2008
    gblotter wrote:
    My SmugMug site seems to be working correctly now. All is well, all is well.

    It does seem to be working ok on my site and has been most of the day.
    Just need confirmation when Smug are happy that this is fixed for good.
    I get a little paranoid with stuff like this and have to keep checking my site... just incase.

    Can we confirm yet that this is fixed?thumb.gif
  • Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited November 28, 2008
    Paul, it's fixed :)
  • Options
    pjspicspjspics Registered Users Posts: 296 Major grins
    edited November 29, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    Paul, it's fixed :)

    Nice one Andy, much appreciated wings.gif
Sign In or Register to comment.