Options

transparency box for text block

skorg264skorg264 Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited June 5, 2015 in SmugMug Support
Anyone have any thoughts on how I might add a transparency box to a text block to help it stand out better against a background?

Comments

  • Options
    AllenAllen Registered Users Posts: 10,011 Major grins
    edited August 24, 2014
    You want the background of a text box showing transparency? What color?

    Do you have a link to the page with the box?
    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website index | My Blog
  • Options
    nickjamisonnickjamison Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
    edited June 2, 2015
    Further help with this...
    Allen wrote: »
    You want the background of a text box showing transparency? What color?

    Do you have a link to the page with the box?

    Hi Allen,

    You definitely know your stuff. I am desperately trying to add a black transparency background to this html/css box. The overall goal is that I may input white text over the page background and have it stand out/legible. To say I am rusty at HTML is an understatement. Would appreciate your input if you have the time.

    Link: http://www.nickjamison.com/FAQ
    Box in question currently says "this is an HTML test".

    Thank you,

    Nick

    nickjamison.com

  • Options
    pilotdavepilotdave Registered Users Posts: 785 Major grins
    edited June 3, 2015
    Hi Allen,

    You definitely know your stuff. I am desperately trying to add a black transparency background to this html/css box. The overall goal is that I may input white text over the page background and have it stand out/legible. To say I am rusty at HTML is an understatement. Would appreciate your input if you have the time.

    Link: http://www.nickjamison.com/FAQ
    Box in question currently says "this is an HTML test".

    Thank you,

    Nick

    Something like this should work:

    .sm-page-widget-11010009 {
    background-color: rgba(0,0,0,0.5);
    }

    Dave
  • Options
    nickjamisonnickjamison Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
    edited June 3, 2015
    pilotdave wrote: »
    Something like this should work:

    .sm-page-widget-11010009 {
    background-color: rgba(0,0,0,0.5);
    }

    Dave



    I copied that into the CSS section of the text box and it did nothing. Could you be a little more specific?

    nickjamison.com

  • Options
    AllenAllen Registered Users Posts: 10,011 Major grins
    edited June 3, 2015
    I copied that into the CSS section of the text box and it did nothing. Could you be a little more specific?
    Some CSS changes for a widgets do not work if you put it in the widgets CSS tab. You might have to
    add it to "entire site" CSS widget.
    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website index | My Blog
  • Options
    pilotdavepilotdave Registered Users Posts: 785 Major grins
    edited June 3, 2015
    Allen wrote: »
    Some CSS changes for a widgets do not work if you put it in the widgets CSS tab. You might have to
    add it to "entire site" CSS widget.

    Yeah you can just drop a CSS content block onto the page and add the code... I haven't played around with the CSS tab in HTML/CSS content blocks to have an understanding how to use it. Maybe you can just put the background color CSS line straight into that?

    Dave
  • Options
    nickjamisonnickjamison Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
    edited June 3, 2015
    pilotdave wrote: »
    Yeah you can just drop a CSS content block onto the page and add the code... I haven't played around with the CSS tab in HTML/CSS content blocks to have an understanding how to use it. Maybe you can just put the background color CSS line straight into that?

    Dave

    This worked perfectly. Thank you gentlemen.

    One last question. If I wanted to fix the dimensions of the box is that possible as well? In an effort to spare you of stupid questions, I tried to look up the code but it didn't work. Thank you.

    nickjamison.com

  • Options
    AllenAllen Registered Users Posts: 10,011 Major grins
    edited June 3, 2015
    I've "fixed" the size of a couple of widget using "Just this page" CSS box but it is tricky getting it to work.
    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website index | My Blog
  • Options
    nickjamisonnickjamison Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
    edited June 3, 2015
    Allen wrote: »
    I've "fixed" the size of a couple of widget using "Just this page" CSS box but it is tricky getting it to work.

    Would it be the same for say resizing the box to the text content within the box? Like an auto resize?

    nickjamison.com

  • Options
    AllenAllen Registered Users Posts: 10,011 Major grins
    edited June 3, 2015
    Any manual override would be a problem with box resizing.
    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website index | My Blog
  • Options
    nickjamisonnickjamison Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
    edited June 3, 2015
    Allen wrote: »
    Any manual override would be a problem with box resizing.

    Understood. Thank you for the help!

    nickjamison.com

  • Options
    nickjamisonnickjamison Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
    edited June 5, 2015
    So new issue. The box on the FAQ section worked perfect. I cannot get a box to work on the contact section. Do I need to alter the code?

    FAQ: nickjamison.com/faq <----worked great

    Contact: nickjamison.com/contact <-----is not working

    nickjamison.com

  • Options
    pilotdavepilotdave Registered Users Posts: 785 Major grins
    edited June 5, 2015
    So new issue. The box on the FAQ section worked perfect. I cannot get a box to work on the contact section. Do I need to alter the code?

    FAQ: nickjamison.com/faq <----worked great

    Contact: nickjamison.com/contact <
    is not working

    Just change the widget number in the code to 11036231. Every content block gets a unique widget number, so the code will need to be modified on each page.

    I find them using "inspect element" in chrome or web developer tools in firefox:

    i-BLcKRCn.jpg

    Dave
  • Options
    nickjamisonnickjamison Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
    edited June 5, 2015
    pilotdave wrote: »
    Just change the widget number in the code to 11036231. Every content block gets a unique widget number, so the code will need to be modified on each page.

    I find them using "inspect element" in chrome or web developer tools in firefox:

    i-BLcKRCn.jpg

    Dave


    Perfect. Thank you for the very specific answer!

    nickjamison.com

Sign In or Register to comment.