Photo article for motorcycle magazine

nw scoutnw scout Registered Users Posts: 256 Major grins
edited November 16, 2009 in Sports
Hey Guys
An editor of a motorcycle magazine has asked me to do another photo article for them.
While I have done them in the past, this one is a little different for me. I decided to do the article about point and shoot digital cameras, as thats the camera a majority of riders use while out on rides.
While I have been shooting motor sports professionally for over 15 years, writing and point and shoots cameras are a little out of my knowledge base.

Here is what I put together. Let me know what you think and if there are other things you think I should ad or maybe change.
Remember, this article is focused on dirt bike riders looking into cameras for recreational use, not pros or even advanced amateurs.

Photo tips
for
Digital point and shoot cameras

While all the little digital point and shoot cameras out there don't produce images near as well and most 35mm format SLR's, they do have some great advantages. They are small, relatively cheep, produce nice images, and most important for us dirt bike riders, they are convenient to carry while out on a ride.
Even though they are not that good for action photos, point and shoots are great for trail side pics, portraits and scenic shots while out on a ride.

There are hundreds to choose from and they are full of all kinds of trick features. But don't get to caught up in the big number mega pixel war. Any newer camera over 8 mp will give you a nice image. But there is a few things to look for when buying a new camera and there are some helpful tips on how to use it when out on a ride.

I shoot with all canon cameras and love them. I choose the Canon G9 a few years ago as my trail camera and it has been great. It is small, has more than enough mega pixels, full manual mode, video, variable flash output and image quality good enough for a nice 24in x 36in print.