First Time Sports Tournament Photography - Need (Quick) Help!

BigHotShotBigHotShot Registered Users Posts: 37 Big grins
edited July 16, 2007 in Mind Your Own Business
New to SM and new to professional photography, though I've been shooting since the dark (room) ages. I've started a new photo business specializing in youth sports. My kids are into sports so my passion (and skill) has grown with them. I get to share this new photography project with my daughter, making it all the more special.

I have a million questions but first this one: what is a typical arrangement for a tournament? A tournament director just e-mailed me and asked me to send my "typical agreement". Of course, saying, 'uh, I've never done this before' doesn't exactly present well. I'd really like to get the tournament (but not give away the store).

A little (quick) help? Thanks.

www.bighotshot.com

Comments

• Ann McRaeAnn McRae Registered Users Posts: 4,584 Major grins
    edited June 13, 2007
    I just looked at your amples and they are great, so you certainly have that part down.
    How much do you know about your local market -
    Some tournaments allow the photog to go completely on spec. Some actually expect the photog to pay them to have exclusivity. Some are looking for a percentage of the proceeds.

Are you set up to do on site printing? If not, your opportunity for sales is greatly diminished.

Try to get dragon (Gary from Detroit) to answer this one, because he has real, and recent experience.

ann
    BigHotShot wrote:
    New to SM and new to professional photography, though I've been shooting since the dark (room) ages. I've started a new photo business specializing in youth sports. My kids are into sports so my passion (and skill) has grown with them. I get to share this new photography project with my daughter, making it all the more special.