Lightroom 3 Noise reduction question

bgarlandbgarland Registered Users Posts: 761 Major grins
edited January 30, 2011 in Finishing School
I have been using Lightroom for a few years now. I upgraded to LR3 when it came out and installed the 3.2 upgrade. What I am noticing is that when I apply noise reduction either color or luminescence I don't see the resulting noise reduced image unless I zoom in to 1:1. Once zoomed in you initially see the original noise and then once processed and updated the zoomed in image is clean and crisp.

Then if I toggle back to the normal full fit view I can still see the original noise in the image. Zoom back in again and the noise is gone.

Now if I export the image as a JPG, the noise reduction is obviously applied as expected. Also when I print the image the noise reduction is always applied as expected.

My question is why do I not see the noise reduction in my image when I am viewing the full image in fit mode, only once I zoom in?

Comments

• RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,893 moderator
    edited September 24, 2010
    That's just the way the program works. You need to be at 100% to see the effect of NR and sharpening as well. I guess Adobe's designers figured that nobody would be so heavy handed as to try to make these adjustments at less than full resolution. They obviously weren't taking me into account. lol3.gif It's a bit of a pain, but you'll get used to it.
  • bgarlandbgarland Registered Users Posts: 761 Major grins
    Richard wrote: »
    That's just the way the program works. You need to be at 100% to see the effect of NR and sharpening as well. I guess Adobe's designers figured that nobody would be so heavy handed as to try to make these adjustments at less than full resolution. They obviously weren't taking me into account. lol3.gif It's a bit of a pain, but you'll get used to it.