First post - first wedding

soboylesoboyle Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited May 1, 2011 in Weddings
My Niece asked me to photograph her wedding.
I want to give her the best images I can - but considering I have zero experience shooting weddings, that may not be that great.
It seems to me that being in the right place all day is half the trick to getting the shots.
Knowing ahead of time where things will be happening. So is the best approach to carefully plan the day, talk to the bride and groom, see what the sequence of events will be and how they will unfold, then try to be in 10 places at the same time?
I'm fairly confident with my shooting technique, I'm going to keep it as simple as possible. Just a couple lenses and a body. It's an outdoor daytime wedding, with an outdoor reception. So light should be good, or at least not too dark.
Fill flash?
Tripod for group shots?
tricks for posing that go a long way?
Thanks for any suggestions on what, I'm sure, will prove to be a very long day.

Comments

• PhotosbychuckPhotosbychuck Registered Users Posts: 1,239 Major grins
    edited April 27, 2011
    Hi soboyle,

Yes, tripod for group shots.
    I also suggest doing the group shots in the shade.
    Go to the location a few days before the wedding at the same time the wedding is going to take place. This will let you see how harsh the light will be and take someone so you can do test photos. Maybe you will get lucky and it will be a overcast day. Try to find a shady spot that you can do the group shots.

Good Luck,
    Charles Cassidy,
    D300S, 18-200mm VR, 70-300mm VR

Aperture Focus Photography
    http://aperturefocus.com
  • smurfysmurfy Registered Users Posts: 343 Major grins
    edited April 27, 2011
    Try reading through the stickies at the top of this forum, and after that, searching "first wedding." Your question has been asked countless times before, and some very kind people have written tons of useful information to answer it.