Corporate headshots?

esheatoesheato Registered Users Posts: 50 Big grins
edited May 13, 2015 in Technique
Hello all,

My girlfriend asked me to take some corporate headshots of her non-profit leadership. Most likely less than 10 people. I have traditionally shot my family, friends and my son for albums, digital sharing, etc. I have zero experience with this type of event, and I'd like to pick your brain to avoid commonly made mistakes.

My goal is sharp shots with good white balance and symmetry (between shots..ie, posing, lighting, white balance, etc) for a clean presentation on their web site. I plan on low ISO (around 100 if lighting allows) and an aperture of f/5.6 or so. I will also be using a grey card in my initial shots, and copying that setting throughout.

I will most likely be in a conference room with no windows and fluorescent lights above. I haven't seen the space yet, but I'm hoping to have enough room to stage them away from the wall.

As far as equipment, I have a 1DsMkII, a 24-70 f/2.8 and a 70-200 f/2.8. I have a Yongnuo Speedlite clone for flash and a Gary Fong diffuser. I think the 70-200 would be best, but am open to suggestions. I also figure I'll aim the flash (sans diffuser) to the ceiling and bounce it.

Being a non-profit (and my girlfriends place of employment), I am doing this out of the kindness of my heart. If they don't end up perfect, that's acceptable, as there is no exchange of money...but I'd like to put my best foot forward and give them something they can work with. For what it's worth, they lobby on Capitol Hill (Washington DC) for STEM education and are a part of the Challenger.org organization in support of the Challenger shuttle disaster in 1985.

As far as my process, I'm fairly certain I'm going to use a tripod, shoot portrait (shoulders up), and place some tape on the floor as an index point to guarantee good body placement, etc.

Should I manually focus?