Aperture to Adobe Migration

TallPhotoGuyTallPhotoGuy Registered Users Posts: 160 Major grins
edited January 25, 2016 in Finishing School
With Aperture no longer being developed at some point I need to Migrate, assuming the Adobe $9.99 offering is the right way to go.

Some background. I am not a pro but do a lot of family/friends and HS sports, both pictures and video. I use SmugMug as my official share site. Thats not changing. My platforms are all Apple, iMac, iPhone and iPad. Thats not changing. I have 1TB+ of storage for photos. For video almost 2TB. All my storage is on external drives. They are inexpensive and meet my needs.

I plan to throw on a new 4TB external driving switch to the Adobe $9.99. I don't need to use their cloud offerings, too many clouds already. The Apple cloud stuff along with SmugMug meets my needs. I just need to replace Aperture and figured might as well do it now.

Any issues with the above plan or things I need to watch out for

Comments

• mercphotomercphoto Registered Users Posts: 4,550 Major grins
    edited January 25, 2016
    There are good things about the LR route. Adobe has about 0% chance of ditching LR, while unfortunately Apple has ditched the best DAM software out there. :( It works on Windows and Mac. But, to me, its typical Adobe: horrible UI and slow.

I've switched to Photos for all my family photography. Its friendlier for the wife and does what I need. If I was still doing paid work however, I'd have to stick with Aperture or switch to something like LR.

The biggest gripe I have with Photos right now is a nearly complete lack of a RAW workflow. You cannot bulk apply settings to numerous photos. In Aperture I defined a preset for adjustments that I would apply automatically upon an import of RAW images. This got me 90% of my work done. You cannot do this in Photos. Sheer utter stupidity from Apple.

If your workflow is JPG with minimal editing then Photos is great. If not, look elsewhere.