Anyone else bothered by this?

jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
edited December 13, 2008 in SmugMug Support
I feel like Smugmug is now advertising to me. I know my viewers don't see this, but there are a couple things that bug me about this:

2008-12-06_2142.png

First, I have no interest in cards from Smugmug. I've already received my holiday cards from the same vendor I've been using for the last 5 years. I'm certainly fine with Smugmug offering cards, I just don't need to be reminded about it several times a day.

Second, I hate this stupid screen that comes up after I log in. It's just a waste of time. Smugmug knows exactly where I was before I hit log in. Just take me there and don't make me click extra. Especially now, when I have to log in more often for the control panel. And, I work on multiple accounts so I have to log in to switch accounts too.

Third, why are you advertising to me? It feels like SPAM. I paid for my account. I don't want to see your promotional material when I don't want to. I'm fine with occasional notices on the homepage that I can dismiss after I've seen them, but I'm stuck with this every single time I log in. I'm fine with an occasional email announcing something new. But, this is just annoying. It's annoying that I have to go to this screen in the first place after logging in and now it's annoying that I have to see an ad for your cards everytime I go there.

This doesn't seem to be in the spirit of no spam, no advertising. I don't know quite why it bugs me, but it does.

Anyone else with any thoughts on this?
--John
HomepagePopular
JFriend's javascript customizationsSecrets for getting fast answers on Dgrin
Always include a link to your site when posting a question

Comments

• denisegoldbergdenisegoldberg Administrators Posts: 14,220 moderator
    edited December 7, 2008