Suggestions for first time portrait shooting

DJFriarDJFriar Registered Users Posts: 19 Big grins
edited May 1, 2012 in Technique
I have a local low-income day care where I'm friends with some employees there. One of them commented on having school portrait type pictures done, one thing lead to another, and I volunteered to help them out at no cost from my end, with our goal being to get at least one picture to each family.

However, I'm not a professional photographer. I'm not a terrible one either, and I see this as a way to help out my community while also gaining some valuable experience. That said, I'm not 100% certain what all I should have to complete this. Could you fellow Dgrinner's suggest a "bare minimum" list of things I should acquire to do some basic school portrait type shots?

I currently have a Nikon D5100, SB400 flash, 35mm lens and a tripod. I am willing to spend a few hundred to get equipment, but don't have a huge budget as its purely pro bono, I just feel strongly that every family should have some pictures of their kids/themselves in their home and want to help out. Backdrops are going to be supplied by the day care (they are going to make an art project out of it).

Suggestions?

Comments

• ZBlackZBlack Registered Users Posts: 337 Major grins
    edited April 30, 2012
    I am far from an expert on this one, but I have just began picking up a couple cheap studio lights and wireless triggers in preparation for some portrait style shooting. What I have come up with is using some Flashpoint II monolights that run $99 each. They have a variety of those lights to choose from and these are the cheapest and weakest in terms of power, but they do what I am after. They are sold/made by Adorama, but the link here is for Amazon.

Then I picked up 2 of these light stands and then two of these Umbrella Softboxes. These are only 40", so they may be a bit small for some peoples taste, but so far for my testing and minimal plans, they have been great.