Smugmug falling behind in mobile space

dannydandannydan Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited June 25, 2013 in SmugMug Support
Hello fellow Smugmug users,

The context of this email is not support related, but I'm hoping it will reach the right people. I've written a similar email to support more than a year ago but nothing has changed, so as a last resort I decided to try this forum.

First let me just say how much I love Smugmug - I've been using it for over 2 years after migrating from Flickr (and previously Picasa) and it is by far superior to both when it comes to web interface, usability, features and speed.
However, in the mobile space I can't help but feel that you guys are falling behind.
First, the mobile version of the site (tested with iPhone 4) is buggy, unfriendly and lacking basic functionality such as full-screen zoom. I was expecting more from the AJAX pioneers in online photo storage. I Would also love to see support for gestures such as swipe to browse pictures. As an example, see Google's implementation of their mobile image search (images.google.com).

Second, about your iPhone application - SmugShot...I have a confession to make - I do not take all photos with the SmugShot application and immediately upload them to SmugMug. Most of the time I take photos with the standard camera app, and then just upload a batch. Unfortunately your app doesn't allow batch upload / selection of images. I have to select and upload them one by one from the camera roll. Not to mention how annoying it is that the app defaults to the camera tab on launch...Check out the PhotoSync app to see how it should be done.
Now for the iPad app - I recently purchased an iPad 2 and one of the first applications I installed was the Smugmug iPad app. It crashes very frequently, and is almost unusable. Just read the reviews, I'm not alone.