I have over half the money saved for a Canon 500mm

MaestroMaestro Registered Users Posts: 5,395 Major grins
edited May 20, 2007 in Cameras
Someone talk me out of this purchase. :D Really, I would love this lens. I am primarily a little bird photographer, but feel I need just a bit more reach (which I understand will always be the case.) I already have the 100-400mm F4-5.6L zoom lens and I love it, but there are times when I miss shots because I was simply too far away. So, the way I look at it, I would have the 100-500mm focal lengths covered and I probably could squeeze a bit more out of it with an extender.

Oh man, I am bad. I have such a bad case of lens lust. :huh

Comments

• gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited May 18, 2007
    Maestro wrote:
    Someone talk me out of this purchase. :D Really, I would love this lens. I am primarily a little bird photographer, but feel I need just a bit more reach (which I understand will always be the case.) I already have the 100-400mm F4-5.6L zoom lens and I love it, but there are times when I miss shots because I was simply too far away. So, the way I look at it, I would the 100-500mm focal lengths covered and I probably could squeeze a bit more out of it with an extender.

Oh man, I am bad. I have such a bad case of lens lust. eek7.gif
    An L prime is going to be a good deal sharper than a zoom with a TC & thats what birders need to highlight the feathers etc. Remember to add a good deal more for a tripod & head to take advantage of a lens that size if you dont already have them.
  • David_S85David_S85 Administrators Posts: 13,167 moderator
    edited May 18, 2007
    Gus, you were supposed to talk him out of it. deal.gif
    My Smugmug
    "You miss 100% of the shots you don't take" - Wayne Gretzky
  • MaestroMaestro Registered Users Posts: 5,395 Major grins
    edited May 18, 2007
    gus wrote: