Stress Test - 3 Army Generals in 60 Seconds for Magazine Cover

jhelmsjhelms Registered Users Posts: 651 Major grins
edited February 3, 2011 in People
The Assignment

I'm a photographer on a military base, absolutely love the job and stuff like this keeps me going. Wednesday, my boss mentions this assignment to me...

"think about maybe some kind of photo of our 3 top guys, might take it Friday after the awards breakfast, will be for an army magazine, probably on the cover, won't have a lot of time and one of them is leaving this weekend for a month, so just bounce some ideas around"

Um, ok.... AND...... from 7:30am until 9:30am Friday morning, I'm shooting this quarterly awards breakfast (which all the generals are attending). The quick group photo will take place immediately after the awards breakfast as they are walking 100 yards from the breakfast location (which is across the street from their offices).

-Creative backdrops? Limited.
-Timeline? Locked in.
-Pre-shoot setup time? Can be done 2 hours before shoot, but then setup must be left to provide breakfast coverage, photographer will then run at full pace to turn lights on and pop-off a quick test shot.
-Chance for do-over? You must be kidding.
-Time allotted on the general's schedule? 60 seconds. Not a typo.

The suggestion was for me to just do a pose or two with an on-camera flash; but there was NO WAY I was going to do that.

Pre-Work

Typically I like to visit the location at the exact time of day of the shoot a few days in advance. This time I couldn't do that. So, the night before, I went ahead and setup all the flashes, remotes, and battery packs so that all I would have to do would be to set them on the light stands and tweak the settings.

I don't have an assistant / grip.