Super basic question

QueenQueen Registered Users Posts: 36 Big grins
edited November 20, 2007 in Cameras
I've been using my little HP point and shoot for a couple of years now (it's my first digital camera), and I'm ready for something with "more".

What I'd like to move up to:

1. Something a little better, something with a real viewfinder and that actually takes the picture when I click the shutter (as opposed to the second or two delay I have now).

2. Something a little bigger that I can really hold on to.

3. Something that will let me do a few manual things as my skills improve.

I know nothing about cameras...so is there a nice camera out there that could meet the above requirements (hopefully under $300)?

Thanks!

Comments

• Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited November 15, 2007
    For a new camera that price might be hinderence unlessyou'd be willing to buy used, until your ready for a DSLR.....if used would not pose a prob then I suggest looking on ebay for slightly used Konica Minolta A2 or A200...these cameras will let you have total manual control or let you shoot in Program, Aperature or Shutter Priority...the viewfinder is an electronic one so manual focusing is fun waiting for the viewfinder to catch up but shutter lag is really short....what I really liked about mine is the fact that I could move the focus point any where in the viewfinder I wanted....it was a true floating focus point so I had no need for manual focus.....I wish all the time I had never sold it for my normal shooting of landscapes, flowers and other non moving subjects....it had a non removable 28-200mm lens equiv.

From What sony has told me they do not have a camera with all the features of the A2....which really bites.
    "Genuine Fractals was, is and will always be the best solution for enlarging digital photos." ....Vincent Versace ... ... COPYRIGHT YOUR WORK ONLINE ... ... My Website