Question re: Domain registration for Power User

billtubbsbilltubbs Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins
edited January 30, 2008 in SmugMug Support
I'm new to smug mug, and am planning to get a power user account to share photos and videos with our family and friends. The power user level has EVERYTHING we would like to have, except the ability to have an external domain - ie, www.thesimsfamily.com instead of http://thesimsfamily.smugmug.com.

I understand this is a part of the pro user account, but I really don't need all of those bells and whistles. Is it possible to have a custom domain for a power user account? If not - is it possible to purchase that option as an add on without having to jump into the full pro account?

Thanks in advance for your assistance,
-Ryan

Comments

• rainforest1155rainforest1155 Registered Users Posts: 4,566 Major grins
    edited December 16, 2007
    Hi,

Unfortunately, customized packages aren't available and therefore, our CNAME feature is only available with a Pro account. You can still make use of your domain by simply setting it to forward to your SmugMug account. This won't preserve your domain name for your visitors, but they would be able to use your domain to get to your site.

I hope this helps.

Sebastian
    Sebastian
    SmugMug Support Hero
  • digitalitiesdigitalities Registered Users Posts: 59 Big grins
    edited December 16, 2007
    billtubbs wrote:
    Is it possible to have a custom domain for a power user account?

I second the Ryan request. Power users have the possibility to completely customize the site (header and footer as well), therefore it make sense to have the own domain at this plan level.

Zenfolio which follows somewhat the SmugMug plan structure, they offer own domain at the intermediate level already.

I believe that there is a niche market of people aiming for this, but not wanting the rest of the pro features.

Cheers, Sergio
  • billtubbsbilltubbs Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins