Options

Help! Event Photography Questions

bokehdotbokehdot Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited March 19, 2016 in Mind Your Own Business
I'm new to professional event photography and need help structuring my arrangements with customers. I'm not a full-time photographer, more a hobbyist, but would like to setup reasonable expectations with the customer.

Event Scenario

Customer: Dance studio (student dancers, under age 19)
Photo work: Day 1, Dress Rehearsal: Artsy shots from any location in the theater; Day 2, Performance: Shots from a single location in the theater with at least one full group shot per dance

My questions:
  1. Should I maintain copyright of the images?
  2. If I maintain copyright, should I agree NOT to publicly display any of the images?
  3. Should I hand over every image taken or a subset?
  4. Should the images I hand over be post-processed?
  5. What limitations of use should the customer have?
  6. Should I manage print sales or the customer?
  7. Which party (or both) should have model releases?
  8. What is a reasonable hourly rate for the services?

Comments

• Options
    SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited March 10, 2016
    bokehdot wrote: »
    I'm new to professional event photography and need help structuring my arrangements with customers. I'm not a full-time photographer, more a hobbyist, but would like to setup reasonable expectations with the customer.

Event Scenario

Photo work: Day 1, Dress Rehearsal: Artsy shots from any location in the theater; Day 2, Performance: Shots from a single location in the theater with at least one full group shot per dance

My questions:
    1. Should I maintain copyright of the images?
    2. If I maintain copyright, should I agree NOT to publicly display any of the images?
    3. Should I hand over every image taken or a subset?
    4. Should the images I hand over be post-processed?
    5. What limitations of use should the customer have?