Stupid queston

ShepsMomShepsMom Registered Users Posts: 4,319 Major grins
edited June 7, 2008 in Technique
I'm finally getting ready to purchase studio light, may be 1 soft box and 1 umbrells, etc.
I'm looking into continues lighting set up, but i don't want HOT lights, i want "cool lights", so my stupid question of the day is. If i'm to get a kit, can i possibly replace a regular light bulb with "daylight balanced" fluerecent one with the highest power? Or am i too crazy to even think this way? :huh Really, i am technically challenged and don't know what i'm talking about.:dgrin
I don't want strobes, i know nothing about them, it is my first try at studio and i want learn all about lighting set up, then upgrade to strobes, or else.

Anyone? :bow
Marina
www.intruecolors.com
Nikon D700 x2/D300
Nikon 70-200 2.8/50 1.8/85 1.8/14.24 2.8

Comments

• raptorcaptorraptorcaptor Registered Users Posts: 3,968 Major grins
    edited June 4, 2008
    ShepsMom wrote:
    I'm finally getting ready to purchase studio light, may be 1 soft box and 1 umbrells, etc.
    I'm looking into continues lighting set up, but i don't want HOT lights, i want "cool lights", so my stupid question of the day is. If i'm to get a kit, can i possibly replace a regular light bulb with "daylight balanced" fluerecent one with the highest power? Or am i too crazy to even think this way? eek7.gif Really, i am technically challenged and don't know what i'm talking about.:dgrin
    I don't want strobes, i know nothing about them, it is my first try at studio and i want learn all about lighting set up, then upgrade to strobes, or else.

Anyone? bowdown.gif

I would spend some time at strobist: http://strobist.blogspot.com/
    before you make your decison. He has a lot of really good advice, and explainations of how some photos were lit.

I bought some hot lights for video a few years ago, and I never use them.
    Glenn

My website | NANPA Member