Options

Wedding Party Rookie

SeatimeSeatime Registered Users Posts: 112 Major grins
edited July 8, 2010 in Weddings
This is my first indoor shoot. I'm just learning how to handle a flash & I can tell I have a long way to go. I would like to shoot weddings soon, maybe some budget ones to start, or as a second shooter to gain experience. Any tips or critiques are most welcome. Here are a few shots from the wedding party:

921906511_qeavS-L-1.jpg

921900855_bgZ7g-L-1.jpg

921894697_DZx5p-L-1.jpg

921895609_fzNg4-L-1.jpg

921855749_zbDcu-L-1.jpg

921835862_gcHFX-L-1.jpg

Comments

• Options
    ssimmonsphotossimmonsphoto Registered Users Posts: 424 Major grins
    edited July 6, 2010
    From a quick glance, they all seem (except for the car) too soft for my liking. Did you do anything in post?
    Also, what are you using for equipment? I have relied less on flash thanks to my faster glass.
    Website (hosted by Zenfolio after 6.5 years with SmugMug) | Blog (hosted by Zenfolio) | Tave User
  • Options
    SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited July 6, 2010
    OK, sit down, no sharp objects within reach? Good...here goes...........

The images really suffer technically. Underexposed, out of focus / camera shake, dark backgrounds.

Generally under these conditions most shoot using manual or aperture priority. Also with higher ISO to allow more ambient light in.

I don't know what your definition of soon is but if your serious about shooting weddings and producing quality images I would recommend reading everything you can. Looking at the websites of wedding photographers you admire. Practice in any type of low light environment you can.

Then try and find work as a second shooter.

There is no shortcut to quality.

Just to be clear, the first images I shot were absolutely, totally, horribly unusable! I darn near quit a week after I bought the camera, but I can be stubborn and decided that the camera would not get the best of me. :D

Sam