Options

Colorful Tree Bark

black mambablack mamba Registered Users Posts: 8,321 Major grins
edited May 6, 2013 in Other Cool Shots
I've always been fascinated by this tree. It stands guard over a 300+ year old courtyard in St. Augustine.

st.augustine%204.3.08%20083-X2.jpg
I always wanted to lie naked on a bearskin rug in front of a fireplace. Cracker Barrel didn't take kindly to it.

Comments

• Options
    R.JayR.Jay Registered Users Posts: 974 Major grins
    edited May 1, 2013
    Hi Tom, I really like the texture of this bark, looks like it is some sort of a conifer?

Cheers, Richard.
  • Options
    edited May 1, 2013
    R.Jay wrote: »
    Hi Tom, I really like the texture of this bark, looks like it is some sort of a conifer?

Cheers, Richard.

I'm no tree expert, Richard, but I do believe you're right about this being some sort of conifer. It's not the most populous kind of tree around here but it's not rare for this area either.

See ya,

Tom
    I always wanted to lie naked on a bearskin rug in front of a fireplace. Cracker Barrel didn't take kindly to it.
  • Options
    DonRicklinDonRicklin Registered Users Posts: 5,551 Major grins
    edited May 1, 2013
    Not a pine, fir or spruce. Some sort of cyprus, metasequoia or the like.

I like!

Don
    Don Ricklin - Gear: Canon EOS 5D Mark III, was Pentax K7
    'I was older then, I'm younger than that now' ....
    My Blog | Q+ | Moderator, Lightroom Forums | My Amateur Smugmug Stuff | My Blurb book Rust and Whimsy. More Rust , FaceBook
  • Options
    DogdotsDogdots Registered Users Posts: 8,795 Major grins
    edited May 2, 2013
    Interesting color in the tree. Looks like one could peel this tree one strand at a time
  • Options
    edited May 3, 2013
    Dogdots wrote: »
    Interesting color in the tree. Looks like one could peel this tree one strand at a time