Indoor Gym Sports - too much yellow

new2vballnew2vball Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited November 24, 2008 in Sports
I am new to this and I need some help. I have read many of the posts on indoor gym photography, esp volleyball and basketball - but I don't see one related to my specific issue - too much yellow. (All the posts were great btw). It would be helpful to get your ideas since you are all very experienced photographers. Thx in advance for any suggestions.

As you can see from this picture, it is yellow. Our gym just got a new floor which is almost a reflective yellow and very bright, with floor to almost ceiling yellowish bleachers, and the lighting is, well, gym lighting. I got the Canon 40D since I already had lenses to match from my film camera and because of its ability to shoot rapid shots, so I could get the ball in the frame. This was taken with a 28-55mm (I also have 50, 85 and 70-200). The pics I have taken in other gyms are fine, just not our home court. Ergo the problem.

I have read your comments about similar issues including flash (not an option), post processing (don't have time/skill yet to tackle all the pics I want to take), filters and settings.

Are there are filters, perhaps even a yellow one, that would address this color saturation issue with ease? Normally, I wouldn't consider, but this is our home court with many years of varsity to go.