Lens Line Up Switch...Opinions Wanted

BlurmoreBlurmore Registered Users Posts: 992 Major grins
edited May 4, 2006 in Cameras
After a year of working with my current lens lineup, it is just not doing it for me anymore. I'm thinking of shaking it up. I'll list my current gear and what I'd like to go to, and the pros and cons I see...any you see I'd appreciate.

First off, I am a wedding photographer, and I shoot portraits (mostly kids and families mostly outdoor). I have a 20D and 30D and plan to keep with a EF-S capable body for at least 2 more years. I come from a medium format background, so the 'prime' mindset is deeply engrained.

Current Gear:

Standard zoom: EF-S 17-85 f4-5.6 IS USM
Pros: covers a wide range
Cons: Not sharp below f8, IS only useful to compensate for lack of sharpness wide open, SLOW and ponderous focussing when compared to any other lens in my bag.

Telephoto Zoom: EF 70-200 f4 L
Pros: Sharp, superhandholdable, great contrast, good focussing.
Cons: L lens spoilage, white

Primes: EF 28mm f2.8
Pros: Sharp at f4, equal to a standard lens on a crop body, hood for 85 f1.8 fits without vignetting, suprisingly low distortion for a 115 dollar wide angle lens.
Cons: slower AFD (still faster than 17-85) focus isn't always positive, very flare prone even using a big hood.

EF 85mm f1.8
Pros: THE portrait lens, sharp, great seperation from background even at f8, fast focussing, rewards good technique with awesome photos.
Cons: Working distance is a tad long for full length portraits, ok when using off camera flash, but not with FOC, unforgiving.
Lensbaby: It is what it is.

Possible "new" Line up

Standard Zoom: EF-S 17-55 f2.8 IS USM
Pros: I'm hoping it is L sharp and L contrasty for an L price and EF-S build quality :rolleyes
Cons: It might not be

WA Zoom: EF-S 10-22
Pros: Opens new creative avenues I haven't been down since I was shooting 35mm

Telephoto Zoom: Same, I will never sell this lens