Should I charge?

wellmanwellman Registered Users Posts: 961 Major grins
edited December 13, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
I have recently been asked to take senior pictures (high school) of the son of an acquaintance. I'm a relatively serious hobbyist, and I've done some portraiture in the past as a favor, figuring it would be good to build goodwill and a decent reputation. Plus, if something went haywire, well, the photos were free to begin with. But this time I'm wondering if I should charge. Given the tone of the manner in which I was asked, I'm betting they're expecting me to.

So, here's my question. Given the quality of my past "work" (see below), should I charge? And if so, what would be fair? I'm not expecting to make a killing, but this would involve night/weekend time that would otherwise be spent with my family.

If you think I should charge, what structure would you recommend? If I charge a fixed fee up front with at-cost prints, they get a good deal on prints, but risk the flat fee if they hate all the photos. If I do the shoot for free but mark up the prints, they have no risk but might get swamped by print markup. And then of course there's the hybrid approach.

Please take a look at the "portfolio" below and let me know what you think. Thanks for your thoughts… :thumb

-Greg

Model headshot:
75860601-M.jpg

Engagement:
68295057-M.jpg

Candid:
63465137-M.jpg

Family:
73187707-M.jpg

Comments

• AngeloAngelo Super Moderators Posts: 8,937 moderator
    edited August 14, 2006
    Hey Greg:

You asked so here's my two cents:

What are you, a photographer or a print merchant? If it's the latter, sell off your gear and invest in an inventory of prints and posters and open up a frame shop near the college dorms and have at it.

If you believe in yourself as a photographer, an artist, you wouldn't be asking this question.