Options

How to manage multiple Lightroom catalogs with SmugMug

lmirantelmirante Registered Users Posts: 15 Big grins
edited June 14, 2015 in SmugMug Support
Hi, I'm new to SmugMug so I don't have any issues regarding upgrading from old to new versions. I do have a question about coordination between Lightroom 5 and the new SmugMug.

I currently have LR5 set up with multiple catalogs, organized by years. I've setup a new site on SmugMug and would like to include photos from more than 1 catalog. If I have synching turned on in LR, how is that going to work? On SmugMug I want photos from multiple LR catalogs to show up in a single folder or gallery. But will SmugMug delete photos from catalog X when I sync from catalog Y and the catalog X photos don't exist in catalog Y?

Comments

• Options
    CanvasOfLightCanvasOfLight Registered Users Posts: 36 Big grins
    edited August 3, 2013
    I think you are misunderstanding how LR5 and Smugmug work together :)
    You just upload the photos you want from any catalog you want to Smugmug from within LR, it doesn't sync by itself. You create galleries on Smugmug and select the photos you want to upload.
    Travel & Culture Photographer / Photography instructor
    http://www.canvas-of-light.com
    http://canvas-of-light.smugmug.com/
  • Options
    edited August 3, 2013
    (Please excuse the obsessive capitalization - anywhere I've capitalized it's to emphasize using terms specific to either Lightroom or SmugMug.)

I have actually used the SmugMug Publish Service from within Lightroom to create Galleries and Folders on SmugMug, which show up in Lightroom as Collections under the SmugMug Publish Service, populated the Collections from my Lightroom catalog and published the galleries and folders to SmugMug. This all worked perfectly. I didn't have to go to the SmugMug site to do this. It even created the hierarchy. For example, I have a private folder with multiple galleries within it and they worked fine.