Critique requested

Greyhound RickGreyhound Rick Registered Users Posts: 75 Big grins
edited December 27, 2008 in People
Hello everyone,

Im experimenting with some off camera flash and this one was shot tonight with a 3 light set up.

My daughter, Valerie, had no make up on and was not thrilled about posing for this, but I wanted to shoot her anyway just to get your help with the lighting.

IMO, the lighting is OK, but I think the hair light is too harsh, there is too much shadow on left side (camera right) and theres not enough backlight on her right side (camera left).

If you wouldnt mind can you please tell me what adjustments you would make to this and suggestions on how to do so?

I have an SB-800 shooting thru an umbrella camera left, a background strobe, a hair light strobe and a reflector camera right.

All speedlights were set to TTL and I did not snoot the hair light. I just zoomed in to 105mm.

Thanks. Im new to this so Ive got a LONG way to go. Criticism is very well received so dont worry about being harsh. I dont mind AT ALL!!

my best,

Rick

3129218215_c1fe894804_b.jpg

thanks very much for taking the time to help me with this!

rick
Make a fast friend. Adopt a greyhound!!

Comments

• clemensphoto'sclemensphoto's Registered Users Posts: 647 Major grins
    edited December 23, 2008
    I'm no expert , but overall it looks good. The lighting on the right side (her left) looks a little harsh though.
    Ryan Clemens
    www.clemensphotography.us
    Canon 7D w/BG-E7 Vertical Grip, Canon 50D w/ BG-E2N Vertical Grip, Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L USM, Canon 18-55mm, Canon 580EX II Flash and other goodies.
    Ignorance is no excuss, so lets DGrin!
  • SwartzySwartzy Registered Users Posts: 3,293 Major grins
    edited December 23, 2008
    Hi. First off...having and using a light meter for this type of shooting will provide you with a staring point. The right side is too "hot", meaning the exposure is a bit too much for conducive light modeling.