grey market Nikon camera/lens repaired by any service centers?

haringharing Registered Users Posts: 281 Major grins
edited April 15, 2015 in Cameras
Have you ever sent grey market Nikon camera/lens to be repaired by any non Nikon service centers? I know the disadvantages of having/buying a grey market Nikon lens/camera. Nikon doesn't offer any repairs or technical support. My question: DOES Nikon supply parts to non-Nikon authorized repair centers? I have heard that lot of grey market Nikon owners use nikoncamerarepair.com for repair. Have you used them? nikoncamerarepair.com does repair grey market lenses but I am wondering whether Nikon supplies them the required original Nikon parts?

I am planning to buy a lens. The price difference is $500 between the grey and the authorized lens.

Thanks so much!

Comments

• kdogkdog Administrators Posts: 11,680 moderator
    edited April 13, 2015
    As a working professional, I wouldn't dream of sacrificing the serviceability of my lenses to save a few bucks on the purchase. When I need a lens or a body fixed, I need it fixed RIGHT NOW. In fact, I pay Canon an annual fee to join Canon Professional Services which gives expedited service on repairs (as well as numerous other benefits). With CPS, I can get a lens fixed by the factory and returned to me in a few days, not to mention a discount on the repair. I'm sure Nikon has something similar. To me it's part of the cost of doing business, not unlike my insurance policies.
  • haringharing Registered Users Posts: 281 Major grins
    edited April 13, 2015
    kdog wrote: »