Suggestion regarding video quality on Power accounts

GaryBakkerGaryBakker Registered Users Posts: 266 Major grins
edited April 27, 2010 in SmugMug Support
This is meant to be addressed to The-Powers-That-Be at SmugMug. Perhaps this is more of a complaint than a suggestion, but I prefer to be constructive rather than complaining.

For video content, the difference between a Power account and a Pro account is that Pro accounts can contain HD quality videos and Power accounts cannot. My suggestion is to allow HD content for Power accounts. Make the value added differentiator for Pro accounts to be the size (length) of the video rather than the video quality.

Here is my story:

a) I have had a Power account for a number of years. It is purely a personal account. In other words, I do not run a photography business and do not sell my photos. My SmugMug account exists simply to be able to share family photos with friends and family. http://www.bakkers.smugmug.com/ I am just a amateur. I am not trying to create great art. I am no Ansel Adams, and I am no Fellini.

b) Prior to our recent trip to Uganda to track the endangered Mountain Gorillas I purchased a new Canon SX200 IS. (Yes I know, it is simply a point-and-shoot camera which is often ridiculed by the more serious photographers here, but the photo quality is reasonable and it's convenient and it has a powerful zoom.) I did not know this when I bought the camera, but the SX200 IS takes video in HD.
http://bakkers.smugmug.com/Travelogues/Uganda-Selec/9660118_hmv8R#654471783_NtL4j

c) When attempting to upload my videos I discovered that I could not do so without upgrading from my Power account to a Pro account. (a $90 per year difference in price!). In frustration and desperation, I upgraded.