Google Co-op & SmugMug - help needed

onethumbonethumb Administrators Posts: 1,269 Major grins
edited May 13, 2006 in SmugMug Support
So Google announced Co-Op the other day and I started playing with it. We have a very basic integration up and running, and I'd like to get anyone here who can test and provide feedback involved.

Here's how:

- Login or create a free Google account.

- Subscribe to my profile.

- Go do some Google searches.

Currently the following searches should work:

[word] photos (ex: 'paris photos')
photos of [word]
photos from [word]
find photos of [word]
find photos from [word]

Their functionality is frustratingly limited at this time, but tantalizingly powerful when you think about what this could become. I'd love to hear some ideas on what you'd like to see from integration like this and what would be useful.

I'm thinking we may generate custom queries for Google based on the most popular search terms at smugmug for a given day, so you can see exactly how many photos of some world event are at SmugMug, for example.

I'm also playing around with some Google Maps-related queries, which could be interesting.

Anyway, please do let me know if this is at all useful, what more you'd like to see, etc, so I can relay it to my friends at Google.

Don

Comments

• rainforest1155rainforest1155 Registered Users Posts: 4,566 Major grins
    edited May 12, 2006
    The whole co-op thing doesn't seem to work for me - when I launch a search for:
    photos from wittenberg

I get the same results as when I launch an ordinary google search (url in address bar doesn't contain any special parameters).
    Same thing for the examples on the google co-op page. ne_nau.gif

I'm on IE6.

Does this work for anyone except Don?

Sebastian
    Sebastian
    SmugMug Support Hero
  • onethumbonethumb Administrators Posts: 1,269 Major grins
    edited May 12, 2006
    onethumb wrote: