File Format Issues when Shooting

jlg84jlg84 Registered Users Posts: 59 Big grins
edited June 28, 2005 in Technique
I have been shooting digital for several years, mostly as an adjunct to my 35mm photography. Lately, however, as I acquired a Canon 10D and a Sony DSC-F828, I have started shooting digital more or less exclusively. Up to now I have always shot in JPEG format, especially since these cameras make pretty big files. But now I am beginning to wonder whether I should be shooting in RAW mode. What do you shoot in, and why? And are there large enough CF cards out there to be able to shoot a reasonable number of RAW shots between downloads to my photo vault?

Canon 5D Mark II / Canon 50D / 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye / 24-70mm f/2.8L / 16-35mm f/2.8L II / 70-200mm f/2.8L IS / 50mm f/1.4 / Speedlight 580 EX-II / Canon G9
http://shuanglong.smugmug.com

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited June 27, 2005
    jlg84 wrote:
    I have been shooting digital for several years, mostly as an adjunct to my 35mm photography. Lately, however, as I acquired a Canon 10D and a Sony DSC-F828, I have started shooting digital more or less exclusively. Up to now I have always shot in JPEG format, especially since these cameras make pretty big files. But now I am beginning to wonder whether I should be shooting in RAW mode. What do you shoot in, and why? And are there large enough CF cards out there to be able to shoot a reasonable number of RAW shots between downloads to my photo vault?

shoot raw + jpg on your 10d - yeah you can get 1Gb and 2gb cards and even bigger :D on your 828, shoot raw if doing landscapes or other tripodded work, where speed of writing to the card isn't an issue - cuz the 828 is a bit slooow in the raw-writign department :D

there's tons of info here on dgrin regarding why raw is good - and it's advantages... try the search you'll see.

wave.gif welcome to dgrin!