Portraits metering modes and histograms

alaiosalaios Registered Users Posts: 668 Major grins
edited April 11, 2014 in People
Hi all,
I am quite new to this game but there is always something confusing me...
If I am not wrong the center (weighted) metering method is a good candidate for portraiture work as you want the face to be somehow okay lighted. If that is true I still need to keep looking on the histogram and apply the ETTR (exposure to the right rule?).

How do you find the right exposure for a portraiture work?

Regards
Alex

Comments

• zoomerzoomer Registered Users Posts: 3,688 Major grins
    edited March 28, 2014
    I can only tell you how I do it.

Matrix metering, always
    Auto Iso, set shutter speed at 160 minimum usually
    Aperture priority, unless using flash then manual
    Usually shoot wide open or one down
    Adjust exposure compensation as necessary.
    I judge my exposures by the blinkies. I try to always be right on the edge of them blinking but not blinking on anything I care about, I let stuff I don't care about go.
  • QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited March 28, 2014
    alaios wrote: »
    Hi all,
    If I am not wrong the center (weighted) metering method is a good candidate for portraiture work as you want the face to be somehow okay lighted. If that is true I still need to keep looking on the histogram and apply the ETTR (exposure to the right rule?).

Regards
    Alex

Your instinct is correct. If you are in center weight and the portrait is like headshot or shoulders and up, then expose to the right is not as critical. if it involves more of the full body and thus background it maybe wise to expose to the right to some degree. Remember what ETTR is supposed to help with. Every shot will be different.
    D700, D600
    14-24 24-70 70-200mm (vr2)
    85 and 50 1.4
    45 PC and sb910 x2
    http://www.danielkimphotography.com
  • divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins